The ESO Stroke Unit Committee has been mandated by the ESO Executive Committee to establish the ESO Stroke Unit/Centre certification project. The Stroke Unit Committee has been responsible for defining the submission and evaluation criteria and for defining the overall process.

ESO Stroke Unit Committee 2016:

  • Ulrike Waje-Andreassen (Chair), Norway
  • Laurent Derex, France
  • Diederick Dippel, Netherlands
  • Stefan Engelter, Switzerland
  • Damian Jenkinson, UK
  • Darius Nabavi, Germany
  • Dilek Orken, Turkey
  • Ondrej Skoda, Czech Republic
  • Ivan Staikov, Bulgaria
  • Andrea Zini, Italy

The aim of the Stroke Unit Committee is to lift and equalise care for patients in Europe who have suffered a stroke by the use of systematic and comprehensive audits of stroke units and stroke centres to improve patients┬┤ management and outcomes. This aim will achieved by certification of European stroke units and stroke centres.